plant-based vs paleo / carnivore diet

sh3

Michael Peterson status
Dec 1, 2008
@Mr J - Nailed it. Keep up the strong work. Do, IMO, continue to partake of veggies and fiber.

@Duffy LaCoronilla - Dude. I'm in my mid-50s. Also, caloric restriction can have significantly negative impacts on your metabolism when done over time. Don't deny yourself, but also don't overdo it. As someone said above, moderation is key. As is varying your diet to ensure micronutrients of all different kinds get into the works.

My wife likes to say the body works like Goldie Locks. Not too little and not too much of any one thing. I hate when she says it, but it's true.

By the way, I didn't used to be in shape like this. I was a desk-jockey lawyer for over 20 years. I started paddleboarding in 2009 and it changed my life. All courtesy of this place, the erBB. Met some people here who motivated me, inspired me, and got me to challenge myself. Best day ever for me was 8/24/2008, when this shot of a few of us at San-O was taken - I won't name the people but I still love these guys in a not-gay way. I made a deal that day to the Catalina Classic with JP. We shook hands. Changed my entire life. I since won the Classic and have gotten onto the trophy a few times. I owe the erBB.

internetdudes.jpg

casa_mugrienta

Duke status
Apr 13, 2008
Petak Island
@Mr J - Nailed it. Keep up the strong work. Do, IMO, continue to partake of veggies and fiber.

@Duffy LaCoronilla - Dude. I'm in my mid-50s. Also, caloric restriction can have significantly negative impacts on your metabolism when done over time. Don't deny yourself, but also don't overdo it. As someone said above, moderation is key. As is varying your diet to ensure micronutrients of all different kinds get into the works.

My wife likes to say the body works like Goldie Locks. Not too little and not too much of any one thing. I hate when she says it, but it's true.