The Official Wine Thread!

tsenn

Billy Hamilton status
Feb 11, 2004
san diego
I remember drinking Tablas Creek for the first time after drinking over on the "other side" of Paso...man, loved the earthy, dirt taste...I'm not a pro wine drinker, so I think you call it something else...Terrier? something that sounds like the dog...

Reactions: gbg

gbg

Miki Dora status
Jan 22, 2006
Attention Ventura folks. Labrynth Wines in DT VTA has a special on their Touriga Nacional. $15 a bottle or a case for $150. Wines here are very good. Go get some. You will be glad you did.

gbg

Miki Dora status
Jan 22, 2006
Went back to Clos des Amis last weekend. No tastings due to CV19 but bought more of his regular wines and some of his Alt label. The Rincon Point Pinot. Bruce helped plant that vineyard years ago. Puts it in a Bordeaux bottle just to ruffle feathers. Right up Bates. 20200707_184013.jpg

The Sangiovese is from Santa Ynez. Same simple winemaking process. Man the Sangio is bangin.

Reactions: grapedrink

enframed

Tom Curren status
Apr 11, 2006
Del Boca Vista, Phase III
20201009_204629.jpg

So good. 2018, Sannio. Short maceration time, stainless steel only, and very little tannins. Totally different expression of aglianico, which is usually 20+ days on skins and many months in oak. Sour plums and cherries, a little fennel. Drink chilled, as you can see.

Last edited:
Reactions: grapedrink

grapedrink

Duke status
May 21, 2011
A Beach
It used to give me headaches and then someone told me to drink French and Italian wines. No more headaches. Lower sugar, fewer chemicals added. Pick a French or Italian wine bottle that looks good at around $15 and see if that works.
They also don’t get picked as ripe and aren’t as overextracted as California wines, which probably leads to more histamines

enframed

Tom Curren status
Apr 11, 2006
They also don’t get picked as ripe and aren’t as overextracted as California wines, which probably leads to more histamines