Thoughts on Roberts' Twonzer setup

May 20, 2020
So I'm considering a disco diamond but I have no experience with his twonzer set-up. I've been told you can ride it as a twonzer or thruster and maybe a twin plus trailer but not a standard quad. If I want to ride it as a twonzer, I have to buy his fins. Anyone have any experience on Roberts' twonzer? Or the disco diamond? Does the twonzer give the speed and feel of a quad?

Mar 27, 2019
Somewhere
I have a Brofish, and a Starchip. Brofish acts more like a twin Keel than a quad. Starchip closer to a quad I guess. Brofish will slide the tail sometimes, but in a good way. Starchip tail never broke free on me when I didn't want it to. Twonzer setup is fast. I love it. Just wish the fins were available in a lighter construction.

Edit: I wanted to mention that for me, the Twonzer fins are what make those boards work well. Both are keepers for me, and I will probably order a smaller Brofish when XTR has a sale. So yeah, you would probably want the Twonzers if you bought that board. Most shops I see selling them include the fins with the board.

Last edited:

20W-50 and blood

Duke status
Feb 4, 2004
SOCAL
Visit site
im really thinking there's somethign to that twonzer setup....would love to score a used board with it ready to go. speaking of which...that dirtybird model of his looks frickin money too

May 20, 2020
I agree. He has so many models that look good. There must be something to the twonzer set up. Seems like he puts it on most of his boards. I'd love to hear from people with experience on them. Someone on here was selling a big disco diamond a year ago or so. For some reason, it won't come up on the search

Aug 31, 2019
I have the disco diamond and starchip. Both boards are fun but with the starchip I preferred the thruster setup. The disco diamond is awesome with the twonzer fins, lots of drive and hold but still loose for tail slides. I haven't tried the disco with a thruster or 2+1 setup.