***Official Real Estate Thread***

grapedrink

Duke status
May 21, 2011
A Beach
Thanks. Real estate one of my biggest downfalls in knowledge department. Admittedly, I know a lot about architecture but jack sh!t about real estate. But always looking for next potential market swing.
I'm no expert either, although I do know a Disasturbationist when I see one. Eventually they are always right because they preach that the sky is falling for years until it finally happens. This guy has an App centered around figuring out if your market is oversold or not, which shows that he has a financial incentive to push this type of content.

Inventory relative to demand is still the primary driver of pricing. Think about the pockets of the California coast that are super desirable- you are talking handfuls of square miles at best in some counties. Then think about how many people want to buy in.

CutnSnip

Phil Edwards status
Sep 11, 2018
Probably dropping in on you, California
This true for California?

Which publicly held real-estate related companies would be hurting because of this?

ive seen the teeeeeeny est bit of reductions in SOME areas but i think they just to get people to come look, then let the bidding begin. also with the rates - a tiny bit cheaper looks less scary of a monthly payment on paper at least but i dunno - im looking to buy something now and its not looking great out there.

Reactions: r32

vanrysss

Billy Hamilton status
Mar 25, 2019
from Oregon, now SD
Does this video answer the question "Why am I told there's not enough rental housing in my city but there are a huge number of for rent signs in my neighborhood (many sit for months, sometimes 6 months +) and plenty of vacancies where other people I know live too?"
Could be pricing? How much are those rentals listed for? Or maybe you live in an undesirable area?
Afaik there's no housing or rental shortage in Arkansas.

Feb 5, 2024