Dang, my kid didn’t get into any public CA University with a 4.2 GPA that was applied to.

Oct 15, 2015
I’m a little late to the party, but this thread brings back some memories. Lots of great advice and I’ll echo the support for the community college route. I was an above average student in high school, NCSD. I applied to about 5 UCs, way overestimated my application and found myself without any acceptances. Devastated and humbled at the time. In retrospect, I honestly don’t think I was focused or mature enough out of HS for the full college experience and probably would have floundered. I spent 2.5 years at a SD community college. It bought me some time, allowed me to narrow down my interests and save a ton of $$$. I had quite a few amazing teachers in the lower division courses at the JC, not just lecturers forced to instruct as part of their funding. Ended up transferring fairly seamlessly to UCSD (some version of the UC TAG program) and honestly feel that the instruction at the JC prepared me extremely well for the upper division courses at UCSD. Graduated summa cum laude with department honors. No debt. Spent a few years as a researcher at the Salk Institute. From there, 4 years at UCSDs med school, then residency training at UCSD, and then got hired on as faculty at UCSD. I think the stigma around junior/community college education has really disappeared over the last few years, and for most, there is little downside.

racer1

Tom Curren status
Apr 16, 2014
Honolulu, Hawaii
My eldest nephew just basically melted down as soon as he got to UT Austin…