Lung Capacity... how to improve it.

Loisaida

OTF status
Oct 21, 2003
Manhattan, NY
My job requires that i be fit to wear a respirator. In order to be declared fit, i need to pass a lung capacity test (i think that's what it's called). The one where you blow like a maniac into a little tube. Anyway, i've never done very well on it, despite the fact i'm in pretty decent shape (i run, surf, bike, lift weights etc). But on the most recent test i'm bombed, completely and i tried it 8 times. I need to take the test again in 2 months.

Is there anything i can do to improve capacity? And why is this such a factor? I am clearly more aerobically fit than most of my bloated, desk jockey coworkers who easily pass.

thanks for any tips.

oh, i'm 39 male 6' 172lbs. don't smoke.

HBNative

Michael Peterson status
May 7, 2003
Newport Shores
I'm no expert, but I remember reading something (for training I was doing at the time) that said you can do deep breathing exercises where you inhale and exhale to the greatest extreme possible. You do sets of 5 slow repetitions. The idea is that it will allow you to use a greater percentage of your lung capacity more effectively. Try exhaling as far as you can right now - you'll probably find that you start coughing or something when your lungs begin to feel very empty. With some exercise, you'll expand that limit. It seemed to work a little for me, although I wasn't too disciplined about it. Good luck!

SurfDoc

Michael Peterson status
Dec 19, 2002
ex-pat Huntington Beach
Visit site
A common question posed in an unusual way. Often I'm asked about holding the breath longer for surfing in bigger waves, but in the old days I did a lot of work comp. and studied respirator qualifications.

Unfortunately, there is only one answer here. You have the lungs that mother nature gave you. There won't be much improving on that. Lungs don't grow like muscles. Sorry.

Landloct

Kelly Slater status
Jul 18, 2002