How much are you foiling vs. surfing

Hdip

Michael Peterson status
Apr 23, 2005
Malibu, CA
Summer I was 80+ percent foiling. Winter will probably reverse that. Although i did foil strand yesterday.

keoki

OTF status
Dec 9, 2005
Hey Grendal

I may see you out there. I am just starting out, got 10 or so sessions down, so staying away from everyone

I still surf when it is above waist, but was wondering if i mix it up too much will it slow down my learning curve?

Hdip

Michael Peterson status
Apr 23, 2005
Malibu, CA
I'm not so sure about that pyzel foil board. I only saw it briefly at boardroom so I could be wrong. It looked like sort of like a normal board as far as the rails and such. My WCFC and all the boards I'm seeing online are way different. It's almost like the rails are backwards with the pinch at the top of the rail instead of the bottom.

keoki

OTF status
Dec 9, 2005
Havoc,start out there now. Waters are not as crowded, good time to be learning.

Kaser1

Tom Curren status
May 3, 2004
Maine
I've been 99.999999% foil since Sept of 2017. I rode a longboard for about 30 minutes as a buddy wanted to try my board.

grendel95

Billy Hamilton status
Nov 1, 2005
SJC
keoki said:
Hey Grendal

I may see you out there. I am just starting out, got 10 or so sessions down, so staying away from everyone

I still surf when it is above waist, but was wondering if i mix it up too much will it slow down my learning curve?
I've been at it for a few months and it's really difficult to break the good surfing habits you've developed: weight near the back of the board, lean back to slow down, weight centered. All of which seem reversed riding the foil, so for me any time I start riding on instinct everything goes wrong. I'm starting to develop foil habits and I swap between surfing and foiling pretty well.

Nov 29, 2009
Visit site
Like all of you I’m hooked too. So many great designs and smart people coming out with great foils and foil boards.