Dang, my kid didn’t get into any public CA University with a 4.2 GPA that was applied to.

Muscles

Michael Peterson status
Jun 1, 2013
California/Hawaii
Basically, acquisitions is a matter of gold-plating the system in question to let enough pigs feed at the trough until the system doesn't work at enormous per-unit cost. Then, over decades, enough stuff may be thrown out or fixed until it finally does work somewhat. That's at least been my experience. Anyone else wanting to know more should read this:
I could rant all day about acquisitions since I am a military Officer involved in it. I work(ed) at one of the major Navy SYSCOMs before I went to staff duty.

I won't fault the senior Officers too much since they usually get a sh!t sandwich dumped on their plate and told to fix it while there is constant political bickering over DoD budgets.

Reactions: PRCD and sponge

npsp

Miki Dora status
Dec 30, 2003
down the hill and to the right
Visit site
I'd also like to add that I think the entire obsession with the name of your college is a scam. Large state schools are fine. I went to University of Hawaii Manoa. Lots of parents in Hawaii couldn't stand the thought of sending their kids to UH because it wasn't some elite university.

I later went to a DoD funded graduate school program for military Officers. People from every "elite" college you could imagine were in the program. I did just fine and scored just as well as they did on the exams. The idea that some name on your diploma makes you more capable or smarter than the state U degree holders is a complete joke.

The only thing I don't have is access to the Alumni networks.