surfer ear

baller

Nep status
Jan 11, 2002
Costa Mesa, CA
At what point did you guys finally decide to get surgery? Ears totally closed or what? When is surgery absolutely necesary? Would you guys recommend it or try to hold off as long as possible? My friend's dad had the surgery and he said don't get it.

I've been using plugs for about 4 years.. Been surfing for 16 years. I have been to the ENT about 5 times in the past 4 years since I've been having problems with my ears. The procedure is pretty basic. They first use an instrument and dig out huge chunks of ear gunk. Then its on to the vacum suction machine which can hurt a little but feels great afterwards when your ears are clean. My ears are 85% and 90% closed with boney growth(according to the doc)..

I've noticed guys starting to use the same disposable silicon style plugs that I use. They keep all water out and I think they keep the ear canal warmer. My biggest problem is slamming hard on my ears, closeout barrels, excessive duckdiving and taking shacking waves on the head. This is where the Docs plugs have failed me and how my ears get plugged up.

surf cat

Rabbitt Bartholomew status
Jan 14, 2002