So I tried to wing a prone board.

Clamsmasher

Michael Peterson status
Apr 22, 2013
Nar
I put straps on an old 4’4” @ 40ish litres and took it out today. I had a choice of heaps of wind or semi smooth so I went smooth.

it didn’t go very well. I felt like the board was too corky to sinker start and I couldn’t get it planing on my knees...so I don’t know? Thinner, more shortboardish profile? Maybe just heaps of wind..any thoughts?

Aug 28, 2020
I'm a rank beginner that doesn't know squat but i do know being overpowered is better than underpowered.

juandesooka

OTF status
Jan 12, 2009
You see the rippers online doing this, but I've heard from from people I know who are not very good wingers that have supposedly made this work, and even strapless (not witnessed). I tried it once and it was a complete mystery, didn't seem even close. I can knee start my 5' 75L, that's as far as I have gotten with this. Sure would be nice to ride a prone foil though.

Some things I've heard, read, or thought about:
  • if going sinker, go full sinker ... the deeper the board is, the more stable. Buddy said he's standing on it nipple deep. So you need to paddle out to deep water.
  • you want lots of wind, need to be lit, at least until you're good at it.
  • straps should help keep it in place
  • once up, don't fall. :)
And I've seen other dudes doing some kinda half sinker thing where kneeling on board under water, then up to one foot, then both....complete mystery, trying this is beyond spastic.

Until I see some real life examples, I am sticking with ol' reliable 6.8 115L, then getting good at the 75L knee starter, then we'll see

Aug 28, 2020