Refinance now??

Belchfire1

Nep status
Jun 27, 2013
Encinitas
We're only 2 years in on our mortgage 4.00% and are looking to refinance at 3.75% locked rate, no points. The property value has increased 100k (speculative until appraisal but also conservative based on neighborhood comps) We have an FHA and would be able to get out of the PMI ($300 or so a month, we will keep paying the same each month, so we can pay down the mortgage a bit quicker) crap we're currently paying. I'm no expert but this seems like a good idea. Any thoughts from the armchair pros on here?

Cheers, Belch

Ifallalot

Duke status
Dec 17, 2008
If you have an FHA loan you can do a "FHA quick refinance" that will allow you to drop the points without getting an appraisal.

HatterasGlass

Michael Peterson status
Apr 6, 2008
I just closed on a construction loan at 3.875%.
Thought that was pretty good.

I'm no expert - but what will the closing costs be for the refi and how does that compare to the overall 0.25% savings?
I assume its probably in your favor but thats what I always remember hearing when talking about refi.

Pancakes15

OTF status
Mar 17, 2015
You know refinancing costs you more money in the long run right? Sure your monthly payments are lower but your entire term starts over and guess what? If before you refinance every payment you were making lets say 80% was going towards interest and 20% to principal, after you refinance 95% of your payment is going to interest and 5% to principal. These numbers are rough, but you get the point. Your payments go down but you're further delaying how long it takes to make actual payments towards your principal.

Banks aren't in the business of making less money for themselves.

Plus you add in all the refinance fees.

Never....refinance.

Reactions: SharkBoy

Driftcoast

Michael Peterson status
Aug 5, 2002