Black Dark vs. Spine Tec vs Stretch CFT vs. standard EPS

dirtandrib

OTF status
Jan 24, 2011
NC
I have been using epoxy builds for the past 10 years for most boards (not my best wave boards and step ups). I have the most experience and preference for Stretch's EPS Tech now called CFT. I have had a great build by Channel Islands which was their stringer EPS with standard glass. I got a used Black Dart RNF Redux this summer and it has been a great small wave build. I like the durability, rebound and quickness of all of these builds.

I would rank Black Dart as the quickest, then CFT then the standard epoxy build. The only negatives for me are sun sensitive and the need to have them professionally repaired right away. I am a bigger guy (190lbs x 5'9), riding hybrid performance designs in small beach break.

I am interested in trying some Channel Islands designs in Spine Tech. Could someone fill me in how spine tech fits into this gap? I imagine it to be between Black Dart and CFT.

Thanks.

Reactions: Sharkbiscuit

rowjimmytour

Tom Curren status
Feb 7, 2009
Buy some high quality epoxy and digital scale and do your own ding repairs but I must say my 7x stretch boards (1×dft 6×cft) solid and never needed repairs "knock on wood"... Might like to try dft stretch with out spine glass tech same as cft lay out. Also I own a step upcft done in heavy and it can handle a punch or two and has nice weight all around no worries on off shore days.
Free ding repair book:shaka:

One-Off

Tom Curren status
Jul 28, 2005
33.8N - 118.4W
I would rank Black Dart as the quickest, then CFT then the standard epoxy build. The only negatives for me are sun sensitive and the need to have them professionally repaired right away. I am a bigger guy (190lbs x 5'9), riding hybrid performance designs in small beach break.