Best shoulder therapy exercises?

SharkBoy

Miki Dora status
Oct 22, 2004
GromsDad said:
Post em up. Working hard to come back from shoulder and hip problems. Got the hip pretty much resolved but the shoulder is still nagging a little. Been working hard in the weight room 4-5 days a week for two months, dropped a few pounds and gotten much much stronger. Still feeling shoulder impingement going on.....now I think because of my work in the weight room pulling my shoulders forward. Think I just need to balance things out a bit. Looking for what works.

All the rotator cuff excercises I did about 10-12 years ago made my shoulders way worse

Been doing snatches and overhead squats the last 3 years and all problems are gone.

I'm no doctor, but my hypothesis is that you pump those muscles out of proportion when you isolate them, over head barbell excercises strengthen the shoulders with what they are meant for....stability:
https://youtu.be/9xQp2sldyts
"
"

VonMeister

Duke status
Apr 26, 2013
JOE BIDENS RAPE FINGER
GromsDad said:
I'm 49. Between hip and shoulder issues and the fear of ever hurting my back.....I wouldn't try to do the Snatch on a bet.
I wouldn't recommend them for anyone in their late 30's or later but the benefits of increased strength on joint pain is undeniable.

VonMeister

Duke status
Apr 26, 2013
JOE BIDENS RAPE FINGER
SharkBoy said:
GromsDad said:
Post em up. Working hard to come back from shoulder and hip problems. Got the hip pretty much resolved but the shoulder is still nagging a little. Been working hard in the weight room 4-5 days a week for two months, dropped a few pounds and gotten much much stronger. Still feeling shoulder impingement going on.....now I think because of my work in the weight room pulling my shoulders forward. Think I just need to balance things out a bit. Looking for what works.

All the rotator cuff excercises I did about 10-12 years ago made my shoulders way worse