Anyone ever report a contractor to CSLB

Mr Doof

Duke status
Jan 23, 2002
San Francisco, CA
Per the contract, work on our home stairs was supposed to be done by December 7, 2018.

Today we are Fed Ex-ing a 3-ring binder to the California State Licensing Board to ask for some help resolving things that are as of yet undone and overcharged for and not needed (the latter two are our in our opinion).

Anyway, has anyone done this and what was the result?

I don't need a story, just a short "Yes we did and we are glad we did" or a "Yes we did and it made things worse."

Thanks for your time.

waxhead

Legend (inyourownmind)
Mar 31, 2009
Yes, I'm a flooring contractor and a general contractor had me a do a job and refused to pay. I filed a complaint, and the board threatened to pull his license unless he paid up, which he did. I think as a private citizen, you'll get some action from the board. I don't know that you need to give them a novel though-they are, after all, government employees....next time have a penalty in the contract for every day they are late.

ocean7847

Miki Dora status
Jun 23, 2004
the Injured Reserve
Yes, but in a totally different context. They can pressure people who have something to lose. Not sure if you situation involves the right elements...

casa_mugrienta

Duke status
Apr 13, 2008
Petak Island
Mr Doof said:
Per the contract, work on our home stairs was supposed to be done by December 7, 2018.

Today we are Fed Ex-ing a 3-ring binder to the California State Licensing Board to ask for some help resolving things that are as of yet undone and overcharged for and not needed (the latter two are our in our opinion).

Anyway, has anyone done this and what was the result?

I don't need a story, just a short "Yes we did and we are glad we did" or a "Yes we did and it made things worse."

Thanks for your time.
How was your communication with the contractor?

What is their reason for not completing the work?

JBerry

Billy Hamilton status
Dec 8, 2017