Anybody ever rent a car from Turo?

casa_mugrienta

Duke status
Apr 13, 2008
Petak Island
What happened?
I'm not going to go into it until things are resolved.

Typically it's my go-to if I need a specific sort of vehicle for a trip i.e. high clearance etc.

Regardless - would advise against ever using them. Trust me on this one. Way more trouble than it's worth if things go wrong.

Remember, you are dealing with an individual person when you rent from Turo - not someone bound by the rules of the company they work for. This can be a good thing or a bad thing.

Chee-to

Michael Peterson status
Jan 11, 2002
I'm a lawyer. I'm not your lawyer and this is not legal advice.

I read Turo's terms and conditions. I won't offer or rent a car on Turo and I told my family members that under no circumstances should they ever offer or rent a car on Turo.

You can decide what your own risk tolerance is.

casa_mugrienta

Duke status
Apr 13, 2008
Petak Island
What happened?
Rented a car.

Put a dent in the fender at the wheelwell going 5 mph (nipped a low snowbank I couldn't see that was sticking out of a big snowbank).

Immediately notified the owner and Turo. Owner says please take it to the dealer for a safety check to make sure it's safe to drive and to the body shop for a repair est.

So it take it to the dealer, car checks out fine...but I find out it's a 2023 - not a 2022 like I had reserved. I verify the vin with the vin on the rental agreement - yup it's a different year. I notify the owner the car is fine to drive but the fender will have to be replaced and that he's rented me the wrong vehicle. He tells me the 2022 was totaled a while back and the 2023 was the replacement from his insurance payout. Text messages me outside the Turo app and tells me to lie to Turo and tell them we had a verbal agreement to exchange the 2022 for a 2023 prior to pickup. Which of course I did not do as that would be fraud.