Surf coaching

I have been coached at other sports (Tennis, Football - Soccer for you yanks) and I have to say that my experience has been positive, meaning I have improved in these sports. I have been surfing for 22 years or so and at 37 I am taking a trip and hiring a coach for the first time.
I never really thought about it but recently I have been asking why is it that in order to improve our surf (as most of us would like I assume) surfers don't usually go that route? Is it maybe 'frowned upon' in our culture? Lack of organized infrastructure/programs?

Reactions: Aquaman2 and Lohena

rowjimmytour

Tom Curren status
Feb 7, 2009
I have been coached at other sports (Tennis, Football - Soccer for you yanks) and I have to say that my experience has been positive, meaning I have improved in these sports. I have been surfing for 22 years or so and at 37 I am taking a trip and hiring a coach for the first time.
I never really thought about it but recently I have been asking why is it that in order to improve our surf (as most of us would like I assume) surfers don't usually go that route? Is it maybe 'frowned upon' in our culture? Lack of organized infrastructure/programs?
Waste of $$$ best stay in shape and surf as often as possible and you well improve fast. If you don't like your style or feels all wrong have someone video your sessions or "both" work on style on actual sk8 board carving drive ways or even better bowls at local sk8 park.

Reactions: encladd and sdsrfr

rowjimmytour

Tom Curren status
Feb 7, 2009
at 37 you will not improve by much if at all. most people don't improve much past 16 years old. ur either going to get good fast while young or be like the rest of us stuck at intermediate level and devolving from there as u age.