Best strength training routine? Thoughts?

averagejoe

Miki Dora status
May 28, 2008
So far away
www.mardawg.com
52 years old. Your thoughts?

Scenario 1: Go to the gym more days and focus on lighter weights and higher rep counts.

Scenario 2: Go to the gym fewer days and push harder with higher weights and fewer reps to the point that you're noticeably sore on the off days.

Hi Guys

We moved out to Minnesota in May 2020 and I got kinda fat and lazy so I started lifting weights at 48 and being the nerd I am I did a lot of research into what was best. I bought and read Starting Strength by Mark Rippetoe (the Greg Griffin of strength training) and a companion book The Barbell Prescription. Both great reads and very helpful in training. When I was surfing I usually weighed in around 165ish depending on how much beer I was drinking. I’m up to 180 now and carrying about the same body fat % - around 20%. Got my lifts up to bench 210, deadlift 285, ohp 120.

Based on everything I’ve read, VM really knows what he’s talking about

As an older guy, I think you have to pick what to focus on. If you’re lifting heavy and getting strong, you need recovery time, so if you surf a bunch, your recovery will suffer. Both the books I mentioned get into this quite a bit. They also say that practicing your sport is the best way to get better at your sport. Adding weight to similar movements doesn’t really help and can actually hurt.

GromsDad

Duke status
Jan 21, 2014
West of the Atlantic. East of the ICW.
get a power rack and learn to low bar squat. gamechanger.
I do low bar squats occasionally and one thing for sure is that nothing in my workouts gets my heart pounding like they do. The leg press machine doesn't get my heart rate up anything close to doing squats. I guess its the balance factor or the fear of getting hurt doing them :roflmao: .

grapedrink

Duke status
May 21, 2011
A Beach