Surfing with Wing Foil

Mar 4, 2021
Surfing with a Wing Foil !
I'm a surfer, this video makes me dream! I'm new to Wing Foil, do you have any tips/tools to get me to surf like this?
I know it will take hours of practice, but any advice is good to take :)
Thanks !

juandesooka

OTF status
Jan 12, 2009
As I tell my surfer buddies who haven't taken the plunge: harnessing the wind's power in combination with the surf will change your life. All those blown-out days become magic.

At an advanced stage, wing foiling can be like surfing with a small board, but at early stage it is more like SUPing. A big board you can stand on, going fairly slow in flat water, no waves, and with higher wind. Learn how the foil works and how to balance it, then how to do turns, then how to ride the foil with wing flagged out. And then surf!

Of all the wind and foil sports, I think winging is the easiest to learn, but still takes some effort and time investment. Plus some money investment....there really is no cheap way to start, even going used and grinding, it ends up $2000 minimum. Or for me, I did it incrementally, so a repeated series of "just another $500 and I'm good to go". But it's not as bad if you think of it as as investment, not an expense....opens up a new world of radness. :):shaka:

Muscles

Michael Peterson status
Jun 1, 2013
California/Hawaii
Tried winging for the first time yesterday. Pretty challenging at first. Eventually managed to get the wing up and pulling in wind. I've always had an interest in wind sports but the initial investment and amount of gear turns me off. The wing was cool though because all we did was pump it up and go.

juandesooka

OTF status
Jan 12, 2009
What about winging on a regular surfboard at first?
Seems to work ok for this guy http://instagr.am/p/CL9rL0VhUPy/