Cheap Aliexpress Foil Review

Muscles

Michael Peterson status
Jun 1, 2013
California/Hawaii
Found this on youtube and thought it was interesting. I have limited knowledge of foil surfing but figured someone might like to see the video.

Did some digging and it looks like they sell for $350 USD plus shipping and tax. The wing area is 300 sqin.

I will say that I've bought some really good sets of future fins on Aliexpress. You have to sift through a bunch of stuff to find the right seller but sometimes there's deals to be had.

One of my acquaintances works in Aerospace manufacturing and said China steals the designs of everything they make (literally). He told me that a ton of stuff you can buy on Aliexpress comes from the same factory as the name brands. Anyone tried one?

Hdip

Michael Peterson status
Apr 23, 2005
Malibu, CA
A few guys online have started on the aliexpress foils. The thing most of them do is take the front wing from one brand and the rear wing from another brand and then sell it as a full set. They're going to be heavy and probably flexible aluminum masts.

There's really no cheap way to try this sport unfortunately. Better to just spend the $1400 to big winds and get a Takuma Kujira for 10% off. You know you're getting a current generation foil that works really well.

Edit: The problem with this sport is you spend $1500 for a foil and then 2 months later want to spend $2k on a new setup so that you can spend $600 for extra wings.

• Haha
Reactions: radair and surfdad

juandesooka

OTF status
Jan 12, 2009
That set up would be a decent intro to winging: assuming the connections are all tight with no wiggle. 30" plus mast and a 2000+ cm2 front wing ... that's going to be beyond challenging to learn to surf foil on