REMINDER: Siteowner has no obligation to monitor the Forums. However, Siteowner reserves the right to review the Materials submitted to or posted on the Forums, and remove, delete, redact or otherwise modify such Materials, in its sole discretion and for any reason whatsoever, at any time and from time to time, without notice or further obligation to you. Siteowner has no obligation to display or post any Materials provided by you. Siteowner reserves the right to disclose, at any time and from time to time, any information or Materials that Siteowner deems necessary or appropriate to satisfy any applicable law, regulation, contract obligation, legal or dispute process or government request. To further read the rules and terms of agreement of this Forum, click here.

Topic Options
#2402842 - 09/30/15 09:57 AM New Thinking About Beginner Boards?
cahiga Offline
Grom

Ok, I've been bodyboarding prone for over 20 years and now I have a desire to stand up. Don't hate, I don't know what took so long.

So I'm prepared to start surfing with a longboard, but after telling shops my experience on a bodyboard every shop I visit tells me I can start off on a Lost Domesticated board specifically the The LazyBoy, the RV, and even the Puddle Jumper or Channel Islands Average Joe because liters with those boards has changed the thinking. Do you agree with this opinion?

I'm 5'9" 210 Lbs. (agile and athletic), volume calculators are giving me mid to low 40s in liters.

Some of the shops are all over the map though with boards from 5'9" to 6'4" height, liters ranging from high 30s to mid 40s. What would you suggest overall?

#2402848 - 09/30/15 10:19 AM Re: New Thinking About Beginner Boards? [Re: cahiga]
Pissbiscuit Offline
Miki Dora status

Loc: 904
Originally Posted By: cahiga
Ok, I've been bodyboarding prone for over 20 years and now I have a desire to stand up. Don't hate, I don't know what took so long.